Compare
The comparison we would want to read
Most comparison pages name one vaguely defined rival and win every row. This one names the tools, cites where each claim comes from, and says plainly where another product is the better choice for you.
Compiled from publicly published vendor material, as of September 2026.
How to read this page
Four rules we held ourselves to
A comparison is only worth reading if you can check it. These are the rules every cell below follows.
Each competitor cell is sourced
Each one comes from that vendor's own published pages: their site, documentation, help center, or pricing page. Every row names the material it was read from, the cells that assert a limit or carry a concession name their exact page, and the full page list is at the bottom with the date we read it.
Not advertised is not the same as missing
When a vendor's public material says nothing about a capability, the cell reads "Not advertised". That means we found no public statement, not that the product cannot do it. Many products do more than their marketing says.
No appears only in their own words
A cell reads "No" only where the vendor's own copy says the product does not do something, such as HourJourney stating that it covers California only. We never infer a gap from silence.
Nothing here rates quality
We did not create accounts or test these products. This page compares published claims, including our own, and makes no judgement about how well any of them works in practice.
Where another tool wins
Five reasons to choose something other than Licentio
These are real. If one of them describes your situation, the honest recommendation is the other product, and we would rather you learn that here than after you have paid us.
- ClearPath Hours
You are tracking hours outside California
ClearPath Hours advertises all 50 states and DC. Track Your Hours adds New York and Texas to California. Licentio is California BBS only, with no dated commitment for other states yet.
- ClearPath Hours
Price is the deciding factor
ClearPath Hours lists $25 a year, plus a free tier that stays free at 50 entries a month. Licentio is $79 a year and has no free tier. We are not the cheapest option in this category and we do not claim to be.
- HourJourney or SparkHours
You are logging pre-degree or practicum hours
HourJourney sells a trainee tier at $49 a year for pre-degree MFT hours. SparkHours tracks a practicum phase. Licentio begins at registration, so if you are still a trainee or a student, it will not hold those hours.
- SparkHours or ClearPath Hours
You are moving off Track Your Hours today
SparkHours advertises an importer that pulls your Track Your Hours data across directly. ClearPath Hours imports a Track Your Hours CSV during onboarding. Licentio imports a generic CSV, so the same move takes a manual mapping step.
- HourJourney, ClearPath Hours, or SparkHours
You want the Board's own weekly log PDF
All three say they produce the official 37A-525 and 37A-638 weekly logs. Licentio produces a weekly log in the BBS format, laid out by us rather than filled onto the Board's own PDF. Our official-form work went into the Experience Verification and the 37M-300 first.
Where Licentio fits best
What we built instead
Stated as facts about our own product. Each of these is shipped today, and none of them is a claim about what anyone else does or does not do.
- The official BBS Experience Verification, filled from approved hours and attested by your supervisor inside the app
- The 37M-300 Supervision Agreement, filled and signed in app by both you and your supervisor
- Supervisor approval that runs per session, per week, or per month, whichever matches how your supervisor actually works
- An organization tier with a director view and per-associate seats, for group practices and training sites
- Session entry in hours and minutes, logged the way the session happened rather than summarized into a week
- Hours that do not qualify kept out of your creditable total, with the rule that excluded them shown beside them
- Your data out whenever you want it, as PDF, CSV, or JSON
30 days free. No credit card required.
The detail
Capability by capability
Six products, including the spreadsheet most associates actually start with. On a phone each capability becomes its own card; on a wider screen the table scrolls sideways when it needs to.
| Capability | Licentio | Track Your Hours | HourJourney | ClearPath Hours | SparkHours | A spreadsheet |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scope | ||||||
| California pathways Source: Vendor FAQ and product pages | ASW, AMFT, APCC | ASW, AMFT, APCC | Trainee, ASW, AMFT, APCC | ASW, AMFT, APCC | ASW, AMFT, APCC | Whatever you set up |
| States beyond California Source: Vendor home and FAQ pages | California only | New York and Texastrackyourhours.com/faq | California only, per the vendorhourjourney.io/compare/trackyourhours-vs-hourjourney | 50 states and DCclearpathhours.com | California only, per the vendorsparkhours.com/faq | Whatever you set up |
| Pre-degree or practicum hours Source: Vendor product and pricing pages | Registration onward | Not advertised | Trainee tierhourjourney.io | Not advertised | Practicum phasesparkhours.com/practicum | Whatever you set up |
| Two license tracks at once Source: Vendor FAQ and comparison pages | Yes, including ASW with APCC | Not advertised | AMFT with APCC | Not advertised | LMFT with LPCC | Whatever you set up |
| Rules and validation | ||||||
| Rules checked as you log Source: Vendor home pages and help centers | Yes | Alerts on hours and ratios | Yes | Yes, plus an on-demand audit | Yes | No |
| Weekly supervision unit, and the second unit above 10 direct hours Source: Vendor feature and comparison pages | Yes | Supervision ratio alerts | Per setting | In its published log checker | Per setting | No |
| 40-hour weekly cap Source: Vendor associate and guide pages | Across all supervisors and settings | Not advertised | Across all sites | Yes | Yes | No |
| Category minimums, caps, and subsets Source: Vendor guide and comparison pages | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| 104, 52, and 13-week counters Source: Vendor guide and learn pages | Yes | Not advertised | Separate counters | 104 and 52 weeks | Not advertised | No |
| Non-qualifying hours kept out of the creditable total, with the reason Source: Vendor home pages and help centers | Yes | Not advertised | Not advertised | Not advertised | Not advertised | No |
| How hours are entered Source: Vendor product pages | Per session, hours and minutes | Weekly grid | Weekly guided entry | Weekly template | Weekly log | Whatever you set up |
| Supervisors | ||||||
| Free supervisor account Source: Vendor supervisor and pricing pages | Yes, free forever | Not advertised | Not advertised | Yes, free | No account neededsparkhours.com/features | No |
| Supervisor sign-off Source: Vendor feature pages and help centers | In app, per session, week, or month | Not advertised | Signature link, Plus add-on | Review queue with batch verify | Per-week signing link | No |
| Sign-off included in the base price Source: Vendor pricing pages | Yes | Not advertised | Plus add-on, $1.67 a month billed annually | Included with Pro | Included | No |
| Organization or clinical director view Source: Vendor supervisor and pricing pages | Organization tier with per-associate seats | Not advertised | Not advertised | Not advertised | Not advertised | No |
| Official BBS forms | ||||||
| Experience Verification (37A-201, 37A-301, 37A-675) Source: Vendor home, guide, and FAQ pages | The Board's own form, filled from approved hours | Board forms | 37A-301 and 37A-675 | Not advertised | Yes, form number not stated | No |
| Weekly log (37A-525, 37A-638) Source: Vendor comparison and guide pages | BBS format, laid out by Licentio | Weekly tracking log PDF | The official PDFs, per the vendorhourjourney.io/compare/trackyourhours-vs-hourjourney | The official layout, per the vendorclearpathhours.com/learn/california-bbs-weekly-summary-of-experience | The official PDFs, per the vendorsparkhours.com/guides/bbs-weekly-log-of-experience-hours | No |
| Supervision Agreement (37M-300) Source: Vendor guide pages | Filled and signed in app by both parties | Not advertised | Not generated, per the vendorhourjourney.io/guides/bbs-supervision-agreement | Not advertised | Not advertised | No |
| Supervisor signature on the generated form Source: Vendor FAQ pages and help centers | On the Experience Verification and 37M-300 | Not advertised | Signature fields left blank, per the vendorhourjourney.io | Stored per verified entry | Rendered onto the weekly log | No |
| Getting your data in and out | ||||||
| Import from a spreadsheet or CSV Source: Vendor home pages and help centers | Yes | Manual entry | Import method not statedhourjourney.io | Yes, during onboardingclearpathhours.com/help | Not advertised | It is the spreadsheet |
| Import from Track Your Hours Source: Vendor comparison and FAQ pages | Generic CSV only | Not applicable | Not advertised | By CSV, during onboardingclearpathhours.com | By Track Your Hours sign-insparkhours.com/compare/sparkhours-vs-trackyourhours | No |
| PDF export Source: Vendor FAQ and pricing pages | Yes | Board forms | BBS forms | With Pro | Yes | Print to PDF |
| CSV export Source: Vendor pricing pages and help centers | Yes | Not advertised | Raw log data, format not stated | On every plan | Not advertised | Yes |
| JSON export Source: Vendor pricing pages and help centers | Yes | Not advertised | Not advertised | Not advertised | Not advertised | No |
| Price and platform | ||||||
| Price a year Source: Vendor pricing pages | $79 | $89.95trackyourhours.com/pricing | $79, or $49 traineehourjourney.io | $25clearpathhours.com/pricing | $100sparkhours.com/pricing | Free |
| Price a month Source: Vendor pricing pages | $7.99 | Annual only, per the vendortrackyourhours.com/faq | $7.95, or $4.95 traineehourjourney.io | Annual only, per the vendorclearpathhours.com/pricing | $10sparkhours.com/pricing | Free |
| Free trial Source: Vendor pricing pages | 30 days, no card | 30 days, no card | 30 days | 14 days, card collected | 14 days, no card | Not applicable |
| Permanent free tier Source: Vendor pricing and comparison pages | No | Not advertised | No, per the vendorhourjourney.io/compare/free-bbs-hours-tracker | Yes, 50 entries a monthclearpathhours.com/pricing | Not advertised | Yes |
| Mobile Source: Vendor FAQ and comparison pages | Web app | Web app | Web app, installable | Web app | Web app | Depends on your spreadsheet app |
| AI assistance Source: Vendor home and feature pages | No | Not advertised | Not advertised | Audit explanations and questions on your log | Handbook assistant | No |
Scope
California pathways
- LicentioASW, AMFT, APCC
- Track Your HoursASW, AMFT, APCC
- HourJourneyTrainee, ASW, AMFT, APCC
- ClearPath HoursASW, AMFT, APCC
- SparkHoursASW, AMFT, APCC
- A spreadsheetWhatever you set up
Source: Vendor FAQ and product pages
States beyond California
- LicentioCalifornia only
- Track Your HoursNew York and Texastrackyourhours.com/faq
- HourJourneyCalifornia only, per the vendorhourjourney.io/compare/trackyourhours-vs-hourjourney
- ClearPath Hours50 states and DCclearpathhours.com
- SparkHoursCalifornia only, per the vendorsparkhours.com/faq
- A spreadsheetWhatever you set up
Source: Vendor home and FAQ pages
Pre-degree or practicum hours
- LicentioRegistration onward
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyTrainee tierhourjourney.io
- ClearPath HoursNot advertised
- SparkHoursPracticum phasesparkhours.com/practicum
- A spreadsheetWhatever you set up
Source: Vendor product and pricing pages
Two license tracks at once
- LicentioYes, including ASW with APCC
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyAMFT with APCC
- ClearPath HoursNot advertised
- SparkHoursLMFT with LPCC
- A spreadsheetWhatever you set up
Source: Vendor FAQ and comparison pages
Rules and validation
Rules checked as you log
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursAlerts on hours and ratios
- HourJourneyYes
- ClearPath HoursYes, plus an on-demand audit
- SparkHoursYes
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor home pages and help centers
Weekly supervision unit, and the second unit above 10 direct hours
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursSupervision ratio alerts
- HourJourneyPer setting
- ClearPath HoursIn its published log checker
- SparkHoursPer setting
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor feature and comparison pages
40-hour weekly cap
- LicentioAcross all supervisors and settings
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyAcross all sites
- ClearPath HoursYes
- SparkHoursYes
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor associate and guide pages
Category minimums, caps, and subsets
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursYes
- HourJourneyYes
- ClearPath HoursYes
- SparkHoursYes
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor guide and comparison pages
104, 52, and 13-week counters
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneySeparate counters
- ClearPath Hours104 and 52 weeks
- SparkHoursNot advertised
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor guide and learn pages
Non-qualifying hours kept out of the creditable total, with the reason
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyNot advertised
- ClearPath HoursNot advertised
- SparkHoursNot advertised
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor home pages and help centers
How hours are entered
- LicentioPer session, hours and minutes
- Track Your HoursWeekly grid
- HourJourneyWeekly guided entry
- ClearPath HoursWeekly template
- SparkHoursWeekly log
- A spreadsheetWhatever you set up
Source: Vendor product pages
Supervisors
Free supervisor account
- LicentioYes, free forever
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyNot advertised
- ClearPath HoursYes, free
- SparkHoursNo account neededsparkhours.com/features
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor supervisor and pricing pages
Supervisor sign-off
- LicentioIn app, per session, week, or month
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneySignature link, Plus add-on
- ClearPath HoursReview queue with batch verify
- SparkHoursPer-week signing link
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor feature pages and help centers
Sign-off included in the base price
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyPlus add-on, $1.67 a month billed annually
- ClearPath HoursIncluded with Pro
- SparkHoursIncluded
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor pricing pages
Organization or clinical director view
- LicentioOrganization tier with per-associate seats
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyNot advertised
- ClearPath HoursNot advertised
- SparkHoursNot advertised
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor supervisor and pricing pages
Official BBS forms
Experience Verification (37A-201, 37A-301, 37A-675)
- LicentioThe Board's own form, filled from approved hours
- Track Your HoursBoard forms
- HourJourney37A-301 and 37A-675
- ClearPath HoursNot advertised
- SparkHoursYes, form number not stated
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor home, guide, and FAQ pages
Weekly log (37A-525, 37A-638)
- LicentioBBS format, laid out by Licentio
- Track Your HoursWeekly tracking log PDF
- HourJourneyThe official PDFs, per the vendorhourjourney.io/compare/trackyourhours-vs-hourjourney
- ClearPath HoursThe official layout, per the vendorclearpathhours.com/learn/california-bbs-weekly-summary-of-experience
- SparkHoursThe official PDFs, per the vendorsparkhours.com/guides/bbs-weekly-log-of-experience-hours
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor comparison and guide pages
Supervision Agreement (37M-300)
- LicentioFilled and signed in app by both parties
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyNot generated, per the vendorhourjourney.io/guides/bbs-supervision-agreement
- ClearPath HoursNot advertised
- SparkHoursNot advertised
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor guide pages
Supervisor signature on the generated form
- LicentioOn the Experience Verification and 37M-300
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneySignature fields left blank, per the vendorhourjourney.io
- ClearPath HoursStored per verified entry
- SparkHoursRendered onto the weekly log
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor FAQ pages and help centers
Getting your data in and out
Import from a spreadsheet or CSV
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursManual entry
- HourJourneyImport method not statedhourjourney.io
- ClearPath HoursYes, during onboardingclearpathhours.com/help
- SparkHoursNot advertised
- A spreadsheetIt is the spreadsheet
Source: Vendor home pages and help centers
Import from Track Your Hours
- LicentioGeneric CSV only
- Track Your HoursNot applicable
- HourJourneyNot advertised
- ClearPath HoursBy CSV, during onboardingclearpathhours.com
- SparkHoursBy Track Your Hours sign-insparkhours.com/compare/sparkhours-vs-trackyourhours
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor comparison and FAQ pages
PDF export
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursBoard forms
- HourJourneyBBS forms
- ClearPath HoursWith Pro
- SparkHoursYes
- A spreadsheetPrint to PDF
Source: Vendor FAQ and pricing pages
CSV export
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyRaw log data, format not stated
- ClearPath HoursOn every plan
- SparkHoursNot advertised
- A spreadsheetYes
Source: Vendor pricing pages and help centers
JSON export
- LicentioYes
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyNot advertised
- ClearPath HoursNot advertised
- SparkHoursNot advertised
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor pricing pages and help centers
Price and platform
Price a year
- Licentio$79
- Track Your Hours$89.95trackyourhours.com/pricing
- HourJourney$79, or $49 traineehourjourney.io
- ClearPath Hours$25clearpathhours.com/pricing
- SparkHours$100sparkhours.com/pricing
- A spreadsheetFree
Source: Vendor pricing pages
Price a month
- Licentio$7.99
- Track Your HoursAnnual only, per the vendortrackyourhours.com/faq
- HourJourney$7.95, or $4.95 traineehourjourney.io
- ClearPath HoursAnnual only, per the vendorclearpathhours.com/pricing
- SparkHours$10sparkhours.com/pricing
- A spreadsheetFree
Source: Vendor pricing pages
Free trial
- Licentio30 days, no card
- Track Your Hours30 days, no card
- HourJourney30 days
- ClearPath Hours14 days, card collected
- SparkHours14 days, no card
- A spreadsheetNot applicable
Source: Vendor pricing pages
Permanent free tier
- LicentioNo
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyNo, per the vendorhourjourney.io/compare/free-bbs-hours-tracker
- ClearPath HoursYes, 50 entries a monthclearpathhours.com/pricing
- SparkHoursNot advertised
- A spreadsheetYes
Source: Vendor pricing and comparison pages
Mobile
- LicentioWeb app
- Track Your HoursWeb app
- HourJourneyWeb app, installable
- ClearPath HoursWeb app
- SparkHoursWeb app
- A spreadsheetDepends on your spreadsheet app
Source: Vendor FAQ and comparison pages
AI assistance
- LicentioNo
- Track Your HoursNot advertised
- HourJourneyNot advertised
- ClearPath HoursAudit explanations and questions on your log
- SparkHoursHandbook assistant
- A spreadsheetNo
Source: Vendor home and feature pages
Competitor cells reflect each vendor's published material as of September 2026, and Licentio cells reflect what is shipped on the same date. Vendors change both their products and their copy, so check anything that will decide your purchase.
Sources
Where every cell came from
Each product below lists the pages we read and the date we read them. We have not linked them, but the addresses are exact, so you can check any cell against the vendor's own words.
Track Your Hours
trackyourhours.com
- /
- /pricing
- /features
- /faq
Read September 3, 2026
HourJourney
hourjourney.io
- /
- /hours-tracking-for-california-associates
- /compare/trackyourhours-vs-hourjourney
- /compare/free-bbs-hours-tracker
- /compare/tevera-alternative
- /guides/bbs-form-37a-525
- /guides/bbs-supervision-agreement
- /guides/how-to-track-lcsw-hours-california
- /terms
Read September 3, 2026
ClearPath Hours
clearpathhours.com
- /
- /pricing
- /help
- /supervisors
- /security
- /tools/bbs-weekly-log-checker
- /learn/california-bbs-weekly-summary-of-experience
Read September 3, 2026
SparkHours
sparkhours.com
- /
- /pricing
- /features
- /faq
- /practicum
- /e-signatures
- /supervisors
- /compare/sparkhours-vs-trackyourhours
- /guides/bbs-weekly-log-of-experience-hours
Read September 3, 2026
Licentio
licent.io
- /features
- /pricing
- /organizations
- /security
Read September 3, 2026
What this page is not
The limits of a public-sources comparison
We would rather state these plainly than have you discover them yourself.
- We did not create accounts on any of these products, so nothing here is a test result. Each competitor cell is a published claim, reported as a claim.
- A vendor's marketing can lag its product. A cell reading "Not advertised" is an absence of published information, and several of these products are likely to do more than their sites say.
- Where a vendor's own pages disagreed with each other, we used the more cautious reading rather than the one that flattered us.
- Prices, states, and features change. This page carries a date for that reason, and we re-check it as part of our own competitive review.